That’s just CRAZY!

Has God ever told you to do something that smacked of irresponsibility in the world’s eyes? For example, many of us feel it is honorable and responsible to be concerned about finances and taking care of our families, but God specifically tells us in Matthew 6:25 to put these thoughts out of our minds.

Does He mean, like … don’t even think about these things?

Let’s see … “Take no thought” … yep, that’s what He means.

Well, that’s just crazy!

Yes, to the world it is.

I know that some well-meaning Christians out there will think I’m crazy for what I’m about to say, and I’m OK with that because “His thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways His ways” (Isaiah 55:8-9).  Besides, “it is better to trust and take refuge in the Lord than to put confidence in man” (Psalm 118:8). 

God has been dealing with me on an issue that I can no longer ignore. Please keep in mind this is something He has laid on MY heart. If He hasn’t laid it on yours, yes, you’d be crazy to follow my example. 

 <deep breath>

It all started about three years ago when a friend of mine shared the story of an American missionary in a third world country. Unlike our experiences in America, incidents of miraculous healing abound in this third world country. I know miracles happen here, and I have seen some with my own eyes, but apparently the “miracle rate” is much higher in third world countries. The missionary explained this dissimilarity by pointing out that these people don’t have money for doctors and medicine … and they don’t have insurance. They MUST rely on God.

This story stayed with me and grew to the point that I could no longer just ponder it. I felt convicted to act on it. God has shown me over the last few years how all insurances (health, home, life, auto, etc.) are based on FEAR.

“What if you, your family, your car, and your house are all attacked by a random, giant,  ferocious squid-out-of-water? Are you prepared? What will you do?” <gasp!>

You might as well ask, “What if God isn’t faithful to His word and doesn’t keep His promises?” To me, the purpose of insurance is to serve as a safety net – just in case God can’t handle it, or worse … won’t. How is that trusting God? I will not rely on [trust in, depend on, put my faith in] health insurance anymore. 

I had been preparing my husband for the probability that I would not be taking out health insurance next year, but then God told me to quit my job. That took care of that!

Crazy, huh? My doctor sure thinks so, and he didn’t hesitate to point out how often people keep a bad job just for the insurance. He was even “kind” enough to tell me (without my asking) just how much my current medications will cost without insurance. To me, the solution is simple, and I said, “Well, let’s just get me healthy and off of medication then.”

Flabbergasted, he said, “I can’t do that!”

Well, duh! Of course he can’t! But God can. And will. And DID – about two thousand years ago.

I reiterate that this is something God spoke to ME about. I am by no means suggesting you follow my lead here. In fact, a friend of mine once acted on God’s direction to get a job with benefits, but that was a stretch for her, and it increased her faith.

What I DO suggest is that God wants to increase your faith. But for Him to do this, you will have to stretch and be willing for people to think you’re crazy, because, I assure you, they will! Peter’s friends must have thought he’d lost touch with reality when he obeyed Jesus and got out of the boat to walk on water to Him. But he did it. He took that insane step of faith, and he actually walked  … on … water! How cool is that? (OK, we know how the story ends, but only because Peter took his eyes off Jesus, and looked for a giant man-eating squid in the water.  <gasp!>)

So … what CRAZY thing has God told you to do?

5 responses to “That’s just CRAZY!

  1. I do admire the logic of your decision about insurance. This is an unusual position for me to be in. I seem to spend a lot of time pointing out to religious people that if I look at the words they say, they don’t act as if they actually believe what they are saying.

    • EXACTLY, Natalie! Thank you for sharing this. It has taken me a long time to get to this point in my journey – the point where I actually believe the things that I’ve been *saying* I believe all along. I’ve decided that either I believe God’s promises and act accordingly, or I don’t believe and quit pretending that I do. I’m sure I still need to apply this revelation in other areas, but it’s a journey and I’m not “there” yet.

      In my opinion, the reason(s) you have so many opportunities to point out the dissimilarities between the words and the actions of religious people is that many of us are guilty of choosing words carefully so we don’t offend or scare off non-believers. Some of us don’t want to face the ridicule and condemnation that are often generated by acts of faith. Still others of us just don’t want people to think we’re crazy.

      I think it’s high time for us ALL to be real with ourselves and with each other. We need to stop allowing the fear of what others may think control our actions; and we need to stop expecting the behavior of others to reflect their concern of what we might think. In other words – don’t judge others, and don’t live according to the judgments of others. Does that make sense?

      Crazy and proud of it!

      • Natalie Kehr

        In England nobody talks about their faith. It is regarded as very private and personal.

        I mainly concentrate on the liturgy, and the Biblical text. For example the Jewish Day of Atonement liturgy says that on that day God seals who will die during the coming year, and when and how they will die. Logically that statement means it is only atheists like me who can condemn terrorists. Religious folk should assume that the terrorists are simply doing what God had determined should happen. When I have made that argument I have been told that one can modify God’s decree by acts of charity and repentance. In my opinion that simply makes the victims responsible for their own deaths. If they had been more charitable, they would not have died!

        The same passage also leads me to wonder whether synagogue-attending Jews should undergo various medical procedures. Of course, in practice, none of them act as if their fate was determined on the previous Day of Atonement.

        By the way, I think the more liberal Rabbis would like to remove the passage I am talking about from the liturgy, but I don’t think any of them have actually done so.

        The liturgy praises God for relieving poverty. If a charitable appeal gets me at the wrong time, I have been known to reply that relieving poverty is something that God is praised for doing, so it would be blasphemous for me to try and interfere with His deeds.

  2. Praise God for the victory in advance! Praise always precedes victory. Wonderful Mary Jane!!!! I am standing with you in faith and I am so excited to see what our God will do. He is faithful.

    • Thank you Joan! I take great comfort in knowing you are in my corner. Did you catch my subtle mention of you? You DO know that God has used you and your sister to completely transform my life, right?

What has YOUR experience been?

