It’s There! Honest!

YES, it’s there! “God does not give us more than we can handle” is in the Bible. In fact, it’s in several places!

The Bible says that God is my Father, and that He loves me. My earthly father would never purposefully give me more than I can handle. How much more then would my heavenly Father refrain from such a cruelty?

The Bible also says that all things are possible with God. So, I can logically conclude that nothing will be given to me that I can’t “handle” … with God.

Furthermore, the Bible says that God will not allow me to be tempted beyond what I can bear and that He will always provide a way out. So if I’m tempted to distrust Him … to doubt His promises (call God a liar?) and to give in to despair, there will be a way out. I can “handle” it.

Because His grace is sufficient, I can “handle” and even delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, and in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

I can “handle” or overcome anything that comes my way because He who is in me is greater than He who is in the world.

Jesus says that I will have many trials and sorrows here on earth, but that I can take heart, because He has overcome the world. I don’t have to “handle it” – He already has!

Jesus also says, “Come to me all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.” So if I find myself burdened with something I don’t think I can handle, guess where I go? He gives me rest and enables me to “handle” it.

In the parable of the “Tares among Wheat,” Jesus tells us that the tares (“bad” things) are sowed by the enemy, and James teaches that every good and perfect thing is from God. Not only does God not give me more than I can handle – apparently He doesn’t give me “tares” at all! But alas, evil is in the world, and “bad” happens.

The good news is that all things work together for good to them that love God. He takes the tares in my life and uses them for my good. In other words, what appears to be really sucky in my life, will actually work out to be a good thing. Everything is going to  all right. I can “handle” that.

Yes, it’s true that God doesn’t give us more than we can handle. And, YES, I got this truth from the Bible:

God is my Father: Romans 8:15, Galatians 4:6

God loves me: John 1:17, John 3:16-18, John 16:27, Romans 5:5, Romans 5:8

All things are possible: Matthew 19:26, Mark 9:23, Mark 10:27

No temptation beyond what I can bear: 1 Corinthians 10:13

Sufficient grace: 2 Corinthians 12:9

Delight in hardship: 2 Corinthians 12:10

He who is in me: 1 John 4:4

Trials and tribulations – take heart! John 16:33

He will give me rest: Matthew 11:28

“Tares among Wheat” parable Matthew 13:24-30

Good and Perfect Gifts: James 1:17

Things work together for my good (according to His plan): Romans 8:28, Ephesians 1:11-12

3 responses to “It’s There! Honest!

  1. Stan Schreiner

    “Glory to God!” This is good! He is good! And I thank Him for you!

  2. AND! He’s been tempted in every single way that we are tempted–But He didn’t sin!
    We know that, no matter what we’re going through, He’s been there, too. He knows what it’s like, and He knows how to get us out.
    Hebrews 2:18, 4:15

What has YOUR experience been?

