My Sister’s Passing

Kyrie and MeI was with her when she passed. It was the most amazing experience I have ever had, and I am holding on to it to get me through the next few decades without my baby sister. I need to share this, but I hesitate to “cast my pearls before swine to be trampled.” So no trampling, please.

kb3My sister had been paralyzed from the waist down in a car accident and was in and out of the hospital for the remaining nine years of her life. She practiced the Baha’i faith, and she loved Jesus. She also loved Buddha, Muhamed, Confucius, etc. We talked about our faiths often, and we listened to each other with interest and without judgment. She often asked me to pray for her – for healing, pain relief, peace, or strength.

In January 2014, sixteen months ago, we were told she had only a few weeks to live. I prayed fervently that the Lord would keep her alive until she was HIS. She may well have already been HIS. I do not presume to know one way or the other, but because I didn’t know, I prayed.

Last Friday, May 8, 2015, her health was failing so suddenly and quickly that the family was called together. As I was driving, in the privacy of my car, I rebuked Satan, and I rebuked him loudly. I screamed at him to take his dirty, rotten, stinking hands off of my sister – that she did NOT belong to him, and I began to pray in the spirit.

When I arrived, the sight of my sister broke my heart. She was moaning and groaning with her eyes half opened, unable to speak or communicate in any way. She couldn’t even write messages – no muscle control. Sometimes her groans were cries that should have produced tears, sometimes they were angry screams, and sometimes they were just attempts to talk. The groans came with every single breath. Every now and then, she opened her eyes wide, looking at something over our shoulders that wasn’t there – or, at least, WE couldn’t see anything.

We didn’t take turns sitting with her but wandered in and out of the room. There were usually two or three people at a time with her, but the last time I sat with her, we were alone. I held her hand and looked into her eyes. I started singing softly to her. I sang the songs of Jesus’ love that I used to sing to my babies.  And I sang her own name over her (Kyrie Shalom – a prayer for peace). After a while, she opened her eyes wide and looked directly at me with a look of fear and anger. Her incessant moans were infused with hostility – like she wanted to cuss at me, which was not like my sister. I rebuked the enemy and repeated the name of Jesus over and over again softly – almost a whisper – very close to her face. And I prayed in the spirit.

Then God took over. I say that because I was opening my mouth without knowing what would come out of it. Her eyes no longer looked hateful, but they were fixed on mine and mine were fixed on hers. I couldn’t have turned my eyes away if I had wanted to. Her pupils were extremely dilated, and it felt as if I were being drawn into the deepest depths of her soul. I don’t remember all that came out of my mouth at this point, but I do remember frequently murmuring, “Yes. Jesus.” and involuntarily nodding my head as if answering a question affirmatively, or encouraging her to continue doing something.

Her moans started to subside until finally they stopped altogether, and she began to breathe deeply. I kept talking to her in barely a whisper, holding her hand, and looking into her eyes. My sister-in-law and my niece, who had been her caregivers for the previous week, came into the room to get her meds ready and to check her bandages, but their presence went unnoticed by Kyrie, and barely noticed by me. While they busied around in the background, Kyrie and I were in trance … in another world.

Her eyes would occasionally droop heavily only to open again and look into my eyes, and again I would say, “Yes” or “Jesus” or “It’s OK” or whatever else decided to come out of my mouth. It occurred to me later that I was smiling at this point – not because I was trying to reassure her, but because I was full of inexplicable, yet undeniable joy and excitement. I expected her to drift off to sleep now that she was calm, but she took one last deep breath, and then she was gone.

What an honor it was to walk with her to the very threshold of Heaven. And in doing so, my own questions and concerns were assuaged. I know my sister is not just “resting” in peace – she is walking, running, jumping, and dancing – even doing cartwheels and back flips … with Jesus!

Shalom, Kyrie, till we meet again.
kb2

6 responses to “My Sister’s Passing

  1. stan Schreiner

    WOW!!!
    What can I say, but, “Glory to God!”
    Much LOVE . . . .

    s&j

  2. Penny Quinton

    MaryJane, I am so proud of you! Just like we were singing this morning- you Trusted & Obeyed”. Thank you for sharing your experience with me. Our Saviour has the victory in this young woman’s life! I’ll be praying for your family. Love in Christ forever,
    Penny Q

  3. Mary Jane–is that your name? I cannot find your name associated with your statement.

    Have greater confidence, Dear Heart, in your witness and ministry. Don’t trouble yourself over whether we pigs–oink, oink–will trample your pearls.

    Your experience with Kyrie’s passing, and your report of it, are marvelous, miraculous, wonderful, inspirational, faith-building, faithful, persuasive, comforting, beautiful, and inspired.

    You were God’s agent for goodness and holiness in that ministry to your sister.

    Score Board:
    Satan: 0 God and Mary Jane: 1

    Thank you, my dear! You are your father’s daughter!!!

    wwl

  4. I read your story of you and your sister’s final momements of life here on earth, and the wonderful spiritual guides that were with you and her. 1 Corinthians 12 King James Version (KJV) 12 Now concerning spiritual gifts, brethren, I would not have you ignorant. 2 Ye know that ye were Gentiles, carried away unto these dumb idols, even as ye were led. 3 Wherefore I give you to understand, that no man speaking by the Spirit of God calleth Jesus accursed: and that no man can say that Jesus is the Lord, but by the Holy Ghost. 4 Now there are diversities of gifts, but the same Spirit. 5 And there are differences of administrations, but the same Lord. 6 And there are diversities of operations, but it is the same God which worketh all in all. 7 But the manifestation of the Spirit is given to every man to profit withal. 8 For to one is given by the Spirit the word of wisdom; to another the word of knowledge by the same Spirit; 9 To another faith by the same Spirit; to another the gifts of healing by the same Spirit; 10 To another the working of miracles; to another prophecy; to another discerning of spirits; to another divers kinds of tongues; to another the interpretation of tongues: 11 But all these worketh that one and the selfsame Spirit, dividing to every man severally as he will. 12 For as the body is one, and hath many members, and all the members of that one body, being many, are one body: so also is Christ. 13 For by one Spirit are we all baptized into one body, whether we be Jews or Gentiles, whether we be bond or free; and have been all made to drink into one Spirit. 14 For the body is not one member, but many. 15 If the foot shall say, Because I am not the hand, I am not of the body; is it therefore not of the body? 16 And if the ear shall say, Because I am not the eye, I am not of the body; is it therefore not of the body? 17 If the whole body were an eye, where were the hearing? If the whole were hearing, where were the smelling? 18 But now hath God set the members every one of them in the body, as it hath pleased him. 19 And if they were all one member, where were the body? 20 But now are they many members, yet but one body. 21 And the eye cannot say unto the hand, I have no need of thee: nor again the head to the feet, I have no need of you. 22 Nay, much more those members of the body, which seem to be more feeble, are necessary: 23 And those members of the body, which we think to be less honourable, upon these we bestow more abundant honour; and our uncomely parts have more abundant comeliness. 24 For our comely parts have no need: but God hath tempered the body together, having given more abundant honour to that part which lacked. 25 That there should be no schism in the body; but that the members should have the same care one for another. 26 And whether one member suffer, all the members suffer with it; or one member be honoured, all the members rejoice with it. 27 Now ye are the body of Christ, and members in particular. 28 And God hath set some in the church, first apostles, secondarily prophets, thirdly teachers, after that miracles, then gifts of healings, helps, governments, diversities of tongues. 29 Are all apostles? are all prophets? are all teachers? are all workers of miracles? 30 Have all the gifts of healing? do all speak with tongues? do all interpret? 31 But covet earnestly the best gifts: and yet shew I unto you a more excellent way.  In God We Trust Bob  

  5. Thanks for letting this non-Pentecostal read this.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

What has YOUR experience been?

